The New Customs


The New Customs are the compelling pairing of Emma Cloney and Dale Brown. Hailing from the prolifically musical city of Winnipeg Manitoba Canada, the duo is poised to take the world by storm with their solid songwriting, heart-stirring harmonies and outstanding instrumentation. The splendid pairing of guitarist Emma Cloney’s haunting voice and the playing of award-winning, sought-after multi-instrumentalist Dale Brown make up the heart of their sound. In writing together, the pair effortlessly crafts tunes that range in flavour from folk to celtic to blues, yet always sound uniquely like themselves.


All Walls Fall - 2017

With songs ranging from the spooky and sultry “Leave Me Cold”, to a driving adaptation of the Irish ballad “Stretched Upon Your Grave”, to the uplifting title track “All Walls Fall” written in the wake of the 2016 US election, the album is a testament to both the versatility and the cohesiveness of the duo.

In January of 2017, The New Customs decided to challenge themselves; for 4 days in a rented cabin at the Falcon Trails resort in Manitoba’s beautiful Falcon Lake, they recorded the songs they had written and arranged over the previous 9 months as a band. With a clear vision for the sound they wanted and having resolved to embrace their DIY principles, they not only sang and played everything themselves, but also did all the engineering and setup, working long days to achieve their goal. What they ended up with was the 9 song record “All Walls Fall”.

"thought provoking lyrics... infectious beat... beautiful, emotional fiddle playing... sounding akin to something that would come out of the Maritimes... amazing harmonies... This album is definitely something you need to check out"

Full review @


The new Customs (self-titled) - 2016

Recorded live at the Song Shop with venerable producers Scott Nolan and Jamie Sitar. Includes the first songs from the New customs, including an early version of "one more mile". 

Click now to get your copy of their limited print debut EP, available on CD or digital download.

copyright The New Customs 2017